Millennium Development Goals


Millennium Summit- In September 2000, building upon a decade of major United Nations conferences and summits, world leaders came together at United Nations Headquarters in New York to adopt the United Nations Millennium Declaration, committing their nations to a new global partnership to reduce extreme poverty and setting out a series of time-bound targets – with a deadline of 2015 – that have become known as the Millennium Development Goals.

The eight Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) – which range from halving extreme poverty to halting the spread of HIV/AIDS and providing universal primary education, all by the target date of 2015 – form a blueprint agreed to by all the world’s countries and all the world’s leading development institutions. They have galvanized unprecedented efforts to meet the needs of the world’s poorest.

The 2005 World Summit, held in from 14 to 16 September at United Nations Headquarters in New York, brought together more than 170 Heads of State and Government. It was a unique opportunity to take bold decisions in the areas of development, security, human rights and reform of the United Nations. The agenda was based on an achievable set of proposals outlined in the Secretary- General Kofi Annan report “In Larger Freedom”.

The 2010 Summit on the Millennium Development Goals concluded with the adoption of a global action plan – Keeping the Promise: United to Achieve the Millennium Development Goals — and the announcement of a number of initiatives against poverty, hunger and disease. In a major push to accelerate progress on women’s and children’s health, a number of Heads of State and Government from developed and developing countries, along with the private sector, foundations, international organizations, civil society and research organizations, pledged over $40 billion in resources over the next five years.

On 25 September 2013, the President of the UN General Assembly, H.E. Mr. John Ashe, hosted a Special event to follow up on efforts made towards achieving the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) - MDG Acceleration and Beyond 2015. In the outcome document adopted by Member States, world leaders renewed their commitment to meet the MDG’s targets and agreed to hold a high-level Summit in September 2015 to adopt a new set of Goals building on the achievements of the MDGs.

ban ki quote

UN Partners on MDGs

The following United Nations agencies and organizations are committed to the achievement of the Millennium Development Goals:

United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)

Millennium Campaign

United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs (UNDESA)

The World Bank

United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF)

United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)

United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA)

World Health Organization (WHO)

International Monetary Fund (IMF)

UN Human Settlements Programme (UN-HABITAT)

Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)

International Fund for Agriculture Development (IFAD)

International Labour Organization (ILO)

International Telecommunication Union (ITU)

Joint UN Programme on HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS)

UN Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)

United Nations Refugee Agency (UNHCR)

United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO)

United Nations Development Fund for Women (UNIFEM)

Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR)

World Food Programme (WFP)

World Meteorological Organization (WMO)

World Trade Organization (WTO)

World Tourism Organization (UNWTO)

United Nations Office on Sport and Development and Peace (UNOSDP)

Economic Commission for Africa (ECA)

Economic Commission for Europe (ECE)

Economic Commission for Latin America & the Carribean (ECLAC)

Economic and Social Commission for Asia & the Pacific (ESCAP)

Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (ESCWA)